Eight Awarenesses of Enlightenment

The Eight Awarenesses of Enlightenment, or Aspects of Enlightenment are the characteristics that distinguish a Buddhist. Coming from the Mahayana’s Mahaparinirvana Sutra, these eight are:

1. Freedom from desire

2. Satisfaction

3. Serenity

4. Meticulous effort (diligence)

5. Correct remembrance (right mindfulness)

6. Samadhi (Concentration)

7. Prajna (Wisdom)

8. Avoiding idle talk


Smile and be well!


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: